• magisterrex Retro Games


    I've been gaming since the days of Pong and still own a working Atari 2600. I tend to ramble on about retro games, whether they be board games, video games or PC games. Sometimes I digress. Decades after earning it, I'm finally putting the skills I learned while completing my history degree from the University of Victoria to good use. Or so I think. If you're into classic old school gaming, this blog is for you!

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

  • Need Reviews?

    Got a game or product you want reviewed? Send me an email! Will review board games, PC games, video games and accessories (Xbox 360 or Wii, but also new releases for classic systems - you know who you are!)
  • Rules of Etiquette:

    All comments welcome, excepting those that:

    1. Are obvious SPAM
    2. Contain profanity
    3. Are full of p0rn
    4. Advertise or contain links to retail websites
    5. Are abusive or potentially libelous

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,483 other followers

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Follow Me on Twitter!

WANTED: An external USB 5.25″ Disk Drive

5.25" Disk Drive + USB = WIN!

Yes, you read that correctly.  I want either a single USB 5.25″ disk drive (high density, of course!) to use with my Windows PC.  I’ve scoured the Al Gore Superhighway, but have yet to find one.  Yes, I’m aware that I might be on an impossible mission…but surely if I can imagine it, it must exist.

If you are a techie who built an external 5.25″ disk drive that connects with a USB port – or want to take on the challenge of building one – drop me an [ email ].

Please!

6 Responses

  1. Hello magisterrex ..

    I have been looking for the same thing myself.

    Go take a look at this 5.25 Disk Controller. They give you all the needed software to make this thing work?

    http://www.deviceside.com/fc5025.html

    I have been looking for the same thing as you.

    Go take a look at this 5.25 Disk Controller. They give you all the software to make this thing work to.

    You can only Read and copy all files on your 5.25 disc. U can not write to your 5.25 disc.

    I am not absolutely sure but if I remember correctly Windows XP will support the old 5.25 Disk Drive too.
    Good Luck. Hope this Helps you.

    You can only Read and copy all files on your 5.25 disc. U can not write to your 5.25 disc.

    I am not absolutely sure, but if I remember correctly Windows XP will support the old 5.25 Disk Drive too.

    Good Luck. Hope this Helps you.

    Harry D.

    • Thank you for this information. I wish it could write to the diskette, but copying from 5.25″ would be fine. I see that it’s USA only. I wonder how I could get one for a review and/or offer more advertising from an established ecommerce website that carries the necessary product line. Hmmm…

  2. Have you found one yet?
    I’d like to have one as well.

    I’ve only got a dozen floppies to transfer to my HDD, which would take less than an hour, but the retro-coolness would go on and on.

  3. aaah!!! héhé, I actually want that too…!!! I am pretty sure they don’t exist commercially…

    However, did you know that Windows xp and I think Vista also do support 5 1/4 floppy drives… If you have a PC desk-top you can try it out. I haven’t yet.

  4. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by magisterrex – Dan, magisterrex – Dan. magisterrex – Dan said: WANTED: An external USB 5.25" Disk Drive: http://wp.me/pBb2X-eS […]

Leave a Reply

